Running to Forget

Leaving Winnipeg was really tough. Despite all these plans that I make they rarely come to fruition. Yet here I sit in my mothers one bedroom appartment where I’ve been sleeping on the floor/couch for the past week. Even now after it’s all said and done I miss it, and I’m still honestly a bit unsure if I have made the right decision. Stubbornness will keep me away from Winnipeg for the next 5 months. Fists In! has a show with Lemuria (fingers crossed) in December and I will make the trip back for that.

The last two weeks in Ontario have been bittersweet since Jasunn has left us. We got to spend a few days together before his departure and I feel fortunate for that time. He’s one of my oldest friends and I will always have a spot in my heart for him, even if he becomes a filthy Aussie.

I have had this plan to try and run with the Speed River Track Club as some point in the next year. I’m sure I could stroll over and ask to run a work out with them now but, I’m nervous and want to make a good impression so I will probably wait until after the Toronto Waterfront 5km.

The ultimate goal is to go to University *coughguelphcough* somewhere next year and hopefully make a track team. So, I need to post 2-3 good times this year to show I’m in it to win it… and all that. Since I am training alone right now I thought it would be best to hit the books before I hit the road. Even if I find a club to run with for the next while a little knowledge couldn’t hurt me… right?!? The moment I had free time in Kitchener the hunt for running literature began. Over the past two weeks I have found four great titles by respectable running dudes:

The first book I found at Casablanca Books in downtown Kitchener for $3. The Winning Edge: Trade Secrets of an Olympic Track Coach is by Brooks Johnson. Johnson is not the most respected coach anymore having been largely blamed by the running community for USA’s failure to capture many gold in the sprints & relays during the 2008 Olympics. The book itself has anecdotes about elite runners Johnson had coached in the 70’s and 80’s all which showcased a clear cut desire and determination to win, what he calls “The Winning Edge”. It is also filled with some useful tips about strengthening running muscles, your feet and proper running form as well as a training schedule he used with a few elite athletes back in the day. All in all, I found the chapter on form very helpful but one week on that training schedule and I am suffering from a strained adductor, haha some wouldn’t be surprised.

The next I found for $9 at A Second Looks new location also on King St, that place is HUGE now! Explosive Running by Michael Yessis has a very thorough break down of running form, both proper and improper including stop frames from training footage. This book read more like a textbook than a guide, which was good and bad, I had to reread most of it in order to actually absorb the information. A good book since I’m pretty serious about running these days, probably not for the casual jogger.

My kind mother ordered the next two for me off of Amazon and they arrive within two days. We are living in a fucked up world when I can get stuff off the internet that quickly.

Daniel’s Running Formula by Jack Daniels (of course) is pretty much the running bible and has been for the past 15 years. Now in it’s 2nd edition it is once again, more like a text book from a running class than a how to guide. Beware: Contains Science. I have yet to digest much of this book because most of the information has been adapted by others and put on the internet. Meaning, I’ve already fawned over my charts and programed my Garmin with my various paces. I would assume most serious runners know what their VDot is, what their easy, tempo, VO2max and raw speed paces are ect. It is nice to have thorough explanations of the various thresholds and all the information about mitochondria so I can be totally in my body in my head while I run now haha.

The other reason I haven’t read much of Daniel’s is because I have been caught up with Road Racing for Serious Runners by Scott Douglas and Pete Phitzinger. This is very similar to the Running Formula but maybe bit easier to understand. I feel almost anyone who wants to run, and run well, would benefit from this read. The whole 2nd half of this book is filled with chapters on training for and racing various road race distances. Super great book! Get it (looking at you Felicia, Matt, Nick, Luke & Jeff)

Book Report over
—-

As for actual physical training I am taking this week easy have a minor hip adductor strain from last weeks mania. Last week I ran my first long run in two weeks; 11 miles /w hills & a strong headwind at times @ 6:30 pace on the Sunday. Monday I went to the track behind my moms house and ran 12 x 100m Sprints, which I did too hard after being pumped up by all my new running knowledge, and 2 miles barefoot half of which was on the asphalt track. Tuesday I was back in KW and decided to run to the park to run a work out with Tri-City Track Club, who I used to train with back in high school. There were a few old friends there back from running in the USA and I managed to stay within view of the top guys, which gave me a load of confidence. The rest of the week was filled with two days of easy runs, strides and drills and two long runs of 8-9 miles.

By saturday I was at about 46 miles for the week which is probably a 40% increase from the week before (mainly because of exodus). Too much, too soon and now I have a sore leg. This week I managed to take Sunday completly off and Monday was an easy day with strides, drills and stretching.

Tuesday I really needed to run a bit of speed but didn’t think I could handle the work out I had scheduled so I decided to slow the pace down and work on my 5km race pacing. My goal pace for the Laurier Loop at the end of the month is 5:07/miles. I ran 3 miles with 2 minutes of active rest between my splits were 5:08, 5:06, 5:08. I made a strong effort on that last rep NOT to speed up, instead choosing to concentrate on what the pace felt like. I was very comfortable and was able to finish the last mile without switching to a 2/2 breathing pattern. Meaning I wasn’t even close to my last gear. The groin strain didn’t spur up at all while running either.

Wednesday was another active rest day the same as Monday. Today I went out for a Long Run of 1 hour. I took the first 8.5 miles out easy, averaging 6:40/m, because my groin was feeling tight. I brought the next mile home pretty hard, 6:13/m, working my way through 10km pace and then finished with one lap of the track at sub 5:00/m pace because I was feeling super good. My groin had totally loosened up and once again after stretching I couldn’t even tell it was there.

Sitting here now it’s Friday morning and I should be sleeping but this post has taken me a few hours to write and I am determined to get back on track with this whole blog thing. My groin feels a bit sore right now but some Ibuprofen tonight and an easy day tomorrow and possibly Saturday as well will fix that up I hope.

Wish me luck.

About Chasing Heels

Is a twenty something freegan anarchist living in Winnipeg Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Daily Recap, Goals & Plans, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

