Chariots of Pizza

Sometimes the kitchen table is cluttered and I can’t be bothered to clear it off before I make food. I pushed everything to one side to clear a spot to make the Spelt Dough for this pizza. In a large bowl I mixed 2 cups of flour (1 unbleached white, 1 spelt) 3 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt before making a valley for the wet half. Into a cup 1 measured roughly 1/4 C of Olive Oil, 2/3 C of Unsweetened Almond Milk and about a tbsp of apple cider vinegar and poured that into the dry spelt valley. I lightly floured the table and kneaded the dough for maybe 5 minutes before letting it rest back in the bowl with a light coat of olive oil to keep it from drying out.

In small sauce pan I heated some oil and quickly fried some italian herb mix, red chilli flakes, dehydrated garlic and a pinch of salt. In went a can of tomato paste with a touch of water to thin it out and after a few minutes of stirring I had a quick and easy pizza sauce.

I rolled out the dough with an old wine bottle, because I’m a class act, slathered on the sauce and proceeded to layer. First step seemed obvious, a healthy dose of nutrional yeast for those B vitamins. Then came thin full coin slices of organic zuchini, thin sliced local onion and a load of mushrooms from the Loveday growers just outside of the city. I added roughly chopped fresh hydroponic basil before, a layer of Pepperjack Daiya, a good spinkle of sunflower seeds for some crunch and then into the oven it went. 400F for maybe 20-25 minutes, I forgot to look at the clock but in the end out came dinner.


I am now sitting, eating this plate of pizza and Chariots Of Fire has finished downloading just in time for a late night movie date with myself. I am also making Kombucha tonight and will document that with pictures for a post tomorrow.

About Chasing Heels

Is a twenty something freegan anarchist living in Winnipeg Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Another Day, Recipes, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chariots of Pizza

  1. Leek says:

    You know what I would have done if that pizza was within a foot of my mouth? Lunged forward and taken a huge fucking bite, that’s what!

Leave a Reply

