New Things

Monday after the meeting I needed to run. Aside from intervals at the park I hadn’t gone for a hard run yet this year. I did my normal route to Assiniboine park and back and then kicked it over the Maryland bridge as I passed G. and R. who were out running with their group. I didn’t have a watch to time myself but it felt fast and I had to push a bit down the last mile.

I got a Garmin! I’ve been wanting one for the past few months and made a plan to go to Costco with J. from the running group to get one after our work out at Garbage Hill on Tuesday. I also got a HUGE bottle of Omega 3 pills which are an almost exact match of the ones I got from Hollow Reed but 1/4 the price. I won’t make a habit of getting supplements there because I like supporting Chad but I was totally swept up by all the bargains.

On Tuesday I did 10 x the hill. I managed to stay super consistent running between 62 and 66 seconds for each rep. I’m still unsure how long they are but I’ll figure it out next week when I do the hills again with my forerunner on.

Tuesday at work was a bit weird but nice. I feel like people are maybe being a bit cautious around me after my freak out on Monday. Wednesday’s close was about the same but I was on the line for the first time in months and it was great to break out of the old rhythm.

I did five easy miles Wednesday and then the normal long day on Thursday, my first two runs with my new toy. After doing a 4ish mile warm up to the park I ran 12 x 400m. I didn’t have my screens set up to show the past lap time so I didn’t realize I was slowing down and dropped 4-5 seconds in the last half, which was frustrating. I wanted to do them all around 72 but ended up doing the second half around 76. I fixed the screens now so I’ll be able to catch myself next time.

B. and I went to see Suckerpunch at IMAX because her friend was working. It kinda sucked but the visuals were super rad at points. I could have done with a little less leg and lace and a little more liberation and grace… wom wom.

All in all my past few days have been much lower stresswise and I’m thinking it’s because four hours from now I will be on vacation until I can function like a normal human being again.

I’ve made place to go to Montreal and then possibly to Halifax or back home to KW after the Anarchist Bookfair is over. I’m trying not to make solid plans and I want to just go with the wind for a while.

About Chasing Heels

Is a twenty something freegan anarchist living in Winnipeg Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Another Day, Daily Recap, Mental Illness, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Things

  1. Dana says:

    You make me smile.
    I enjoy reading about your running adventures and progress!
    Enjoy your vacation!
    I will miss you (obviously).

Leave a Reply

